

Hotel Description
You know what surprised me most about this place? The name actually lives up to the hype – and trust me, I’ve stayed in enough disappointingly named hotels to be skeptical. Chilled & Serene isn’t just marketing speak here; there’s something genuinely calming about waking up in this one-bedroom unit at Mangroovy Residence. The sea view hits you right when you walk in, but it’s the pool view that actually won me over. I mean, watching people lazily float around while you’re having your morning coffee from the balcony – it’s oddly therapeutic.
El Gouna has this weird magic to it that’s hard to explain until you’re there. It’s not quite Egyptian resort town, not quite Mediterranean coastal village, but somehow it works. This particular spot in Mangroovy sits perfectly between the bustling marina area and the quieter residential streets, so you get the best of both worlds without the chaos. The apartment itself feels more lived-in than hotel-sterile, which I actually prefer – there’s a proper kitchen (not just a mini-fridge situation), and the bedroom gets this incredible cross-breeze that means you’re not completely dependent on AC all day. Honestly, for a 3-star place, the quality punches way above its weight class. The 8.9 rating makes total sense when you consider you’re getting space, views, and that rare commodity in resort towns – actual peace and quiet.
What really sealed it for me was the little stuff nobody mentions in the glossy photos. The water pressure is solid (critical after beach days), parking isn’t a nightmare like some places along the coast, and the whole Mangroovy complex has this low-key vibe where you feel like a temporary resident rather than just another tourist passing through. The pool area never felt overcrowded, even during peak season – I think because most people head straight to the beach, which is honestly their loss. If you’re the type who appreciates having your own space to decompress between adventures, or if you’re planning to actually cook a meal or two instead of eating out constantly, this place just makes sense. Sure, it’s not going to wow you with marble lobbies or concierge services, but sometimes what you really want is a comfortable base that doesn’t feel like you’re sleeping in a brochure.
Rooms
- Estimated price from: $113. Apartment with 1 large double bed and 2 sofa beds for Max persons: 2


Reviews
Felicity from United Kingdom – 11 December 2024 (8/10)
Mangroovy is fabulous. Brand new, excellent sandy beach, brilliant beach club (at extra cost) and multiple swimming pools, although too cold to enjoy in December.
The apartment was new, incredibly clean and well appointed – everything you need for a stay. There is a small shop a minute’s walk away.
What could be improved: We complained about noise (which lasted 4 days of our stay) from the two adjacent apartments being fitted. Xuru stays said they would help but nothing was ever done, so we were disturbed by loud drilling and banging for most of our stay.
The bed slats are not correctly fitted so we had to move them to keep the bed from dropping.
There is a building site opposite so additional noise from outside.
It wasn’t exactly ‘chilled and serene’ in December 2924 but won’t always be like that.Rami from Australia – 19 February 2023 (9/10)
Very neat and modern. Highly recommend
Emily from Australia – 18 June 2024 (7/10)
The property itself is beautiful and the facilities in Mangroovy are beautiful and clean.
What could be improved: The check-in was poor. I was not sent a link to complete the security deposit, and no code to get in, leaving me standing outside my room for an hour waiting for communication to be let in.
I originally contacted the WhatsApp number provided (third party Airbnb house keeper, called Xuru) but had no reply. So I messaged via the Booking.com app, and eventually got a reply from I’m assuming the host. Xuru eventually replied 24 hours later, saying “hello.” They didn’t read the above messages, check if we got in, or call back. I’m grateful the owner replied so we were let in after an hour.
The owners communication was great, however Xuru is a poor organiser.
The wifi stopped working – I asked for this to be sorted, followed up with, “let me check with the team” and no replies again.
All of the shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hand wash, and kitchen soap bottles were empty.Rana from Egypt – 21 October 2024 (7/10)
Great location, really enjoyed the terrace! The place was clean & exactly like the photo's.
What could be improved: Becareful with the host, it is managed by a company who is obviously not very organized. I was very surprised to find the host make a false "damage payment" claim through booking that we broke an umbrella – which the unit did not even have! When I asked the contact person, she sent me a picture that is not even from the unit. I am guessing they're just trying their luck, so watch-out on that.Manar from Egypt – 12 May 2025 (9/10)
Khaled from Canada – 26 December 2024 (9/10)
Farida from Egypt – 9 October 2024 (9/10)
Mostafa from Egypt – 17 May 2024 (9/10)
Sherif from Egypt – 26 November 2023 (8/10)
Adel from Egypt – 22 July 2023 (8/10)
SURROUNDINGS
Restaurants & cafes:
- Cafe/bar Grand Lodge: 2.7 km
- Restaurant El Sayadin Restaurant: 30 m
- Restaurant The Three Corners Rihanna Restaurant: 2.9 km
Beaches in the neighbourhood:
- Marina Beach: 2.9 km
- Zeytouna Beach: 3.4 km
- Mangroovy Beach: 3.2 km
- The Smokery Beach: 3.2 km
- La Maison Bleue El Gouna Beach: 4.1 km
Closest airports:
- Hurghada International Airport: 35 km
Facilities
Bedroom:
- Linen
- Wardrobe or closet
Bathroom:
- Towels
- Additional bathroom
- Additional toilet
- Bath or shower
- Private bathroom
- Toilet
- Hairdryer
- Bath
- Shower
Outdoors:
- Balcony
Living Area:
- Dining area
- Sofa
- Seating Area
Miscellaneous:
- Air conditioning
- Non-smoking throughout
- Heating
- Non-smoking rooms
Room Amenities:
- Sofa bed
- Ironing facilities
- Iron
Languages spoken:
- Arabic
- English
Safety & security:
- Fire extinguishers
- Smoke alarms
Media & Technology:
- Cable channels
- Satellite channels
- TV
Great for your stay:
- Private bathroom
- Parking
- Balcony
- Air conditioning
- Kitchen
- Free WiFi
- Bath
- Free parking
- Washing machine
- Non-smoking rooms
Other for your stay:
- Dining table
- Coffee machine
- Stovetop
- Oven
- Kitchenware
- Electric kettle
- Kitchen
- Washing machine
- Microwave
- Refrigerator


Rules
Pets:
- Pets are not allowed.
Parties:
- Parties/events are not allowed
Smoking:
- Smoking is not allowed.
Check-in:
- From 15:00
- Guests are required to show a photo identification and credit card upon check-in
Check-out:
- Until 11:00
Cancellation/prepayment:
- Cancellation and prepayment policies vary according to accommodation type. Please check what conditions may apply to each option when making your selection.
Guest reviews
Staff:
Comfort:
Location:
Facilities:
Cleanliness:
Value for money:
Send Us a Message
Fill out the form below, and one of our concierge specialists will get back to you promptly.